Check Here For Best Offers

18 February, 2021

Contrasting Win-Loss Fate For Longtime Friends Maxwell, Finch At IPL 2021 Auction With RCB


They have been flatmates in Melbourne, have played together for over a decade, initially for their state Victoria, then for the baggy green cap.

And both, Glenn Maxwell and his Australia T20 skipper Aaron Finch were released by their respective Indian Premier League teams after the 13th edition got over in November 2020 in the United Arab Emirates. 

The release, announced in January 2021 by the eight teams competing in the IPL, also had other big names including Steve Smith. 

On Thursday, 18 February 2021, Maxwell who was let go by Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) became the X-Factor purchase for the IPL trophy-less Royal Challengers Bangalore, led by all-format India skipper Virat Kohli. 

Maxwell's price: A whopping Rupees 14.25 crore (about U.S.$2 million). 

Finch's price: Unsold (IPL future literally over). 

Finch was dumped by RCB, who splashed out a large fund from their kitty for allrounder Maxwell instead.

Their story makes interesting reading. They know each other as much as they know cricket.

In an interview with ESPN Cricinfo few days ago, Maxwell said this of Finch: "It's been nice to have someone who's followed a similar journey and we're still going together. 

"I know how happy for me he was when I made my Test debut and vice versa when he made his. But I think we were living together from around 2012, and to be on the same one-day and T20 journey together at that stage and then eventually make our Test debuts was pretty cool. 

There was a lot of watching cricket in the house and talking tactics and all that sort of thing."

They even played for the same county, Yorkshire. Finch had played a season for Yorkshire in the 2014. Maxwell joined him there the next season. "Having Maxi playing alongside me will be terrific. He is a true competitor and loves the shorter form of the game," Finch had said then.

Later, both players missed their opening 11th edition IPL match for their respective teams as Finch was the groom and Maxwell the emcee. 
Maxwell's post on his Instagram profile

Australian publication had reported: "Both Finch and close friend Glenn Maxwell, who was emcee of the wedding, will miss their respective IPL side's season-openers because of the wedding. Kings XI Punjab (who purchased Finch for A$1.2million at January's auction) and the Delhi Daredevils (who bought Maxwell for $1.75m) face off on Sunday (8.30pm AEST)."

As recently as 2020, the ICC shared a video to showcase Friendship Day that had Maxwell and Finch combine to take a catch that saw the back of Mark Wood in an Australia-England 2019 World Cup tie.

After Maxwell's name went under the hammer at the ITC Grand Chola Hotel in Chennai on Thursday, 18 Feb, 2021, the flamboyant player tweeted this:
His dear friend Finch, meanwhile, spent his time supporting a request for a social cause:

Here's a complete list of sold and unsold players during the IPL Auction 2021 as published by The Hindu's Sportstar on their website:

Sold Players

Batsmen (with initial base price, the price bought for & team that bought the player)

Steve Smith 2 CR 2.20 CR Delhi Capitals

Sachin Baby 20 L 20 L Royal Challengers Bangalore

Rajat Patidar 20 L 20 L Royal Challengers Bangalore

Cheteshwar Pujara 50 L 50 L Chennai Super Kings

Karun Nair 50 L 50 L Kolkata Knight Riders

C. Hari Nishaanth 20 L 20 L Chennai Super Kings  


Adam Milne 50 L 3.2 CR Mumbai Indians

Mustafizur Rahman 1 CR 1 CR Rajasthan Royals

Jhye Richardson 1.5 CR 14 CR Punjab Kings

Nathan Coulter-Nile 1.5 CR 5 CR Mumbai Indians

Umesh Yadav 1 CR 1 CR Delhi Capitals

Piyush Chawla 50 L 2.4 CR Mumbai Indians

Lukman Hussain Meriwala 20 L 20 L Delhi Capitals

Chetan Sakariya 20 L 1.2 CR Rajasthan Royals

Riley Meredith 40 L 8 CR Punjab Kings

M Siddharth 20 L 20 L Delhi Capitals

Jagadeesha Suchith 20 L 30 L Sunrisers Hyderabad

K. C. Cariappa 20 L 20 L Rajasthan Royals

Vaibhav Arora 20 L 20 L Kolkata Knight Riders

M. Harisankar Reddy 20 L 20 L Chennai Super Kings

Kuldip Yadav 20 L 20 L Rajasthan Royals

Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1.5 CR 1.5 CR Punjab Kings

Harbhajan Singh 2 CR 2 CR Kolkata Knight Riders

Akash Singh 20 L 20 L Rajasthan Royals  


Vishnu Vinod 20 L 20 L Delhi Capitals

Sheldon Jackson 20 L 20 L Kolkata Knight Riders

Mohammed Azharuddeen 20 L 20 L Royal Challengers Bangalore

K. S. Bharat 20 L 20 L Royal Challengers Bangalore

Sam Billings 2 CR 2 CR Delhi Capitals 


Glenn Maxwell 2 CR 14.25 CR Royal Challengers Bangalore

Shakib Al Hasan 2 CR 3.2 CR Kolkata Knight Riders

Moeen Ali 2 CR 7 CR Chennai Super Kings

Shivam Dube 50 L 4.4 CR Rajasthan Royals

Chris Morris 75 L 16.25 CR Rajasthan Royals

Dawid Malan 1.5 CR 1.5 CR Punjab Kings

Ripal Patel 20 L 20 L Delhi Capitals

Shahrukh Khan 20 L 5.25 CR Punjab Kings

Krishnappa Gowtham 20 L 9.25 CR Chennai Super Kings

Kyle Jamieson 75 L 15 CR Royal Challengers Bangalore

Tom Curran 1.5 CR 5.25 CR Delhi Capitals

Moises Henriques 1 CR 4.2 CR Punjab Kings

Jalaj Saxena 30 L 30 L Punjab Kings

Utkarsh Singh 20 L 20 L Punjab Kings

Fabian Allen 75 L 75 L Punjab Kings

Daniel Christian 75 L 4.8 CR Royal Challengers Bangalore

Liam Livingstone 75 L 75 L Rajasthan Royals

Suyash Prabhudessai 20 L 20 L Royal Challengers Bangalore

James Neesham 50 L 50 L Mumbai Indians

Yudhvir Charak 20 L 20 L Mumbai Indians

K. Bhagath Varma 20 L 20 L Chennai Super Kings

Marco Jansen 20 L 20 L Mumbai Indians

Saurabh Kumar 20 L 20 L Punjab Kings

Kedar Jadhav 2 CR 2 CR Sunrisers Hyderabad

Ben Cutting 75 L 75 L Kolkata Knight Riders

Venkatesh Iyer 20 L 20 L Kolkata Knight Riders

Pawan Negi 50 L 50 L Kolkata Knight Riders

Arjun Tendulkar 20 L 20 L Mumbai Indians 

Unsold Players


Alex Hales 1.50 CR

Jason Roy 2 CR

Evin Lewis 1 CR

Aaron Finch 1 CR

Hanuma Vihari 1 CR

Himanshu Rana 20 L

Rahul Gahlaut 20 L

Himmat Singh 20 L

Vishnu Solanki 20 L

Rovman Powell 50 L

Shaun Marsh 1.5 CR

Corey Anderson 75 L

Devon Conway 50 L

Darren Bravo 75 L

Rassie van der Dussen 50 L

Martin Guptill 50 L

Siddhesh Lad 20 L  


Sheldon Cottrell 1 CR

Adil Rashid 1.5 CR

Rahul Sharma 50 L

Ish Sodhi 50 L

Qais Ahmad 50 L

Mujtaba Yousuf 20 L

Ankit Singh Rajpoot 30 L

Kuldeep Sen 20 L

Tushar Deshpande 20 L

Karanveer Singh 20 L

Sandeep Lamichhane 40 L

Midhun Sudhesan 20 L

Tejas Baroka 20 L

Varun Aaron 50 L

Oshane Thomas 50 L

Mohit Sharma 50 L

Billy Stanlake 1 CR

Mitchell McClenaghan 50 L

Jason Behrendorff 1 CR

Naveen-ul-Haq 50 L

Ben Dwarshuis 30 L

G. Periyasamy 20 L

Sean Abbott 50 L

Simarjeet Singh 20 L

Reece Topley 50 L 


Glenn Phillips 50 L

Alex Carey 1.5 CR

Kusal Perera 50 L

Kedar Devdhar 20 L

Avi Barot 20 L

K.L. Shrijith 20 L

Ben McDermott 50 L

Matthew Wade 1 CR

Josh Inglis 20 L 


Atit Sheth 20 L

Ayush Badoni 20 L

Vivek Singh 20 L

Gurkeerat Singh 50 L

Marnus Labuschagne 1 CR

Karan Sharma 20 L

Thisara Perera 50 L

Tajinder Dhillon 20 L

Prerak Mankad 20 L

Scott Kuggeleijn 50 L

Wayne Parnell 50 L

Chris Green 30 L

Isuru Udana 50 L

George Linde 50 L

Chaitanya Bishnoi 20 L

Ajay Dev Goud 20 L

Jack Wildermuth 50 L

Harsh Tyagi 20 L

Gerald Coetzee 20 L

Tim David 20 L

Pratyush Singh 20 L